### **Buzzard Club of America**

**Houston Chapter September 2024 Newsletter** 



### September Celebrations

#### Birthdays

Kevin Slaback 8
Janice Porter 9
Kelly Patterson9
Joeleen Brown12
Daniel Rutherford 14
Andrew Roskey 15
Katina Pudifin16
Carolyn Bennett 17
Phebe Ray 30

#### Anniversaries

John & Dee Skinner ..... 15 FOUNDED OCT 1961- ORGANIZED MAY 1963 FOUNDER - THOMAS E. WALTERS, JR CHIEF BUZZARD – KENNETH DEASON

## **August Minutes**

The August Houston Buzzard Club meeting was held at Willowbrook Bowl on Sunday, August 11, 2024.

Roger Moon started the meeting by distributing prize winnings from July and prior tournaments.

Leslie Davis was approved for membership.

Roger announced August birthdays and anniversaries.

The membership discussed the National Tournament that had been hosted by the Montgomery County Chapter the previous weekend. The general consensus was that the tournament was well run and the venue appropriate to the group.

The 2025 Tournament will be in Fort Smith, Arkansas.

There being no further business to discuss, the members were released to bowl.



Contest	Winner
Door Prizes	Gayle Miller, Rick Broussard, Serge Scharf
Candy Guess	Deb Sutton
50/50	Annette Avalos

Page 2 of 4

**Buzzard Club of America-Houston Chapter** September 2024

# And the Winners Are . . .

We had 34 members attend the August tournament. Here are the winners:

Men	Score	Payout
Russell Rucker	698	\$40.00
Andrew Roskey	695	\$27.00
Wayne Harvey	681	\$19.00
Ernest Davis	674	\$14.00

Women	Score	Payout
Annette Avalos	726	\$30.00
Vickie Carlson	708	\$23.00
Vater Beavers	698	\$17.00

### **Over And Under**

Winner	Over	Under
Andrew Roskey	+24	
Scott Lurton		-49
Michelle Vogler	+41	
Raymond Hess		-30
Annette Avalos	+68	
Rick Broussard		-53

## **Strike/Split Pot**

STRIKES	
Andrew Roskey (2)	Aaron Porter
Vicki Carlson	Roger Moon
Michelle Vogler	Dennis Christian
SPLITS	
Aaron Porter	Annette Avalos

### **Mystery Doubles Winners**

Game	First	Score	Second	Score
1	Wayne Harvey / Annette Avalos	447	Matt Lem / Lynda Frost	434
2	Wayne Harvey / Annette Avalos	450	Pete Harvey / Roger Moon	448
3	Connie Kendrick / Annette Avalos	492	Roger Moon / Andrew Roskey	482

Queen Buzzards- 5 Splits		
Angela Montemayor	\$2.50	
Bonnie Stewart	\$2.50	

King Buzzard-7 Sp	olits
Serge Scharf	\$5

### **Handicap Brackets**

FIRST PLACE	SECOND PLACE
Annette Avalos	Vater Beavers
Vater Beavers	Lynda Frost
Vicke Carlson	Connie Kendrick
Wayne Harvey	Connie Kendrick
Annette Avalos	Wayne Harvey/Deb Sutton

### **Reverse Brackets**

FIRST PLACE	SECOND PLACE
Wayne Harvey	Connie Kendrick
Vickie Carlson	Annette Avalos
Connie Kendrick	Deb Sutton

# **2024 Club Officers**

#### **PRESIDENT**

Kenneth Deason 936-718-8238 ken.deason@jtmillerllc.com

#### VICE PRESIDENT

Pete Harvey (713) 774-0339 petehrvy@hotmail.com

#### **SECRETARY**

Roger Moon (713) 724-6259 Rogerd12@sbcglobal.net

#### **TREASURER**

Gayle Miller (713) 501-8906 <u>gm.celticdragon@gmail.com</u>

#### **RECORDING SECRETARY**

Janice Porter (832) 215-7874 jbrooks663@aol.com

### PARLIMENTARIAN

Barbara Castellese (713) 882-9954 barbara.castellese@att.net

#### SERGEANT-AT-ARMS

Ray Hess 281-255-8991 raymond.hess@sbcglobal.net

#### **WEBMASTER**

Pete Harvey 713-774-0339 petehrvy@hotmail.com

### 200 GAMES

Davis	Ernest	206	
Roskey	Andrew	202	

# **High Game/Series**

FIRST GAME	SECOND GAME
Annette Avalos 221	Roger Moon 224
THIRD GAME	SERIES
Annette Avalos	Annette Avalos

#### Let's Bowl

#### September 15, 2024

Max Bowl North 2390 Wilson Rd Humble, TX 77396 October 13, 2024 Copperfield Bowl 15615 Glen Chase Drive Houston, TX 77095 November 3, 2024 Delmar Lanes 3020 Mangum Rd Houston, TX 77092

December 8, 2024 Emerald Bowl 9307 Boone Rd Houston, TX 77099

**More Bowling!** You are invited to attend the Montgomery County Monthly gatherings. Below is the remaining 2024 schedule. All events are held at Time to Spare,13207 Highway 105 E, Conroe, TX 77306. Sign in by 12:30, Meeting at 1:00, Bowl at 2:00.

October 6, November 10

Bowling at the Montgomery County gatherings counts toward the 9 games required to participate in the National Tournament in August.

#### Pot of Gold

There was no winner, so the September Pot of Gold is \$195!

Unless otherwise indicated, Sign-ins start at 12:30, Membership meeting starts at 1:00 and Bowling starts at 2:00. You must be signed in by 1:30 PM.