Buzzard Club of America Houston Chapter March 2025 Newsletter



FOUNDED OCT 1961- ORGANIZED MAY 1963 FOUNDER - THOMAS E. WALTERS, JR CHIEF BUZZARD – KENNETH DEASON

March Celebrations

Birthdays Michael Reynolds 1 Barbara Castellese 5 Deb Sutton 11 Sam Sierra 17 Matthew Lem 19 Joe Jenkins 20 Kathy Kleppel 21 Mary Lou Cantu 22 Christopher Godown 23

February Minutes

The latest meeting of the Houston Buzzard Club was held on Sunday February 8, 2025, at Max Bowl. Roger Moon started the meeting by distributing prize money from the January Houston tournament.

Roger announced January Birthdays and Anniversaries.

Ken Deason provided information concerning the April meeting that is scheduled for Bowlero Stafford on April 6. Stafford is remodeling its facility to change to String Bowling, so the April meeting spot may change, depending on construction.

The March meeting on March 2 will be delayed by $\frac{1}{2}$ hour (start at 2:30 instead of 2).

Roger has the applications for the National Tournament in Fort Smith, AR.

2024 Awards:

Perfect Attendance: Roger Moon, Michael Reynolds and Ray Hess.

Queen Buzzard: Janice Porter, 38 splits King Buzzard: Watson Holyfield, 41 splits

Roger delivered the Treasurers Report

New Members approved were: Adam Cox, Tristan Centeno, Tammy Alexander, Pearl Perez, Linda Reasor, Sam Sierra

Contest	Winner
Door Prizes	Teri Roper, Robert Starnes, Johnathan Whitaker
50/50	Pete Harvey
Candy Guess	Angela Montemayor
Card Game	Angela Montemayor, Janet Whitt

And the Winners Are . . .

We had 45 members attend the February tournament. Here are the winners:

Men	Score	Payout
Izzy Montemayor	740	\$46.00
Simeon Pierre	733	\$31.00
Wayne Harvey	724	\$21.50
Richard Hamaker	722	\$16.25
Ernest Davis	720	\$12.25
Michael Reynolds	710	\$8.00

Women	Score	Payout
Deb Sutton	748	\$34.00
Joy Slaback	713	\$23.00
Alanna Deeb	708	\$14.00
Angela Montemayor	708	\$14.00

Queen Buzzard- 8 Splits		
Jimmie Wilson \$5		
King Buzzard- 8 Splits		
Rick Broussard	\$2.50	
Ray Hess	\$2.50	

200 GAMES

Ernest Davis	209	212	215
Simeon Pierre	236	243	
Luis Garcia	249	202	
Wayne Harvey	232	209	
Richard Hamaker	227	214	
Alanna Deeb	202	238	
Robert Starnes	202	238	
Angela Montemayo	r 211	204	
Aaron Porter	201	213	
Amy Rutherford	204	200	
Izzy Montemayor			
Serge Scharf Deb Sutton	225		
Deb Sutton	224		
Scott Lurton	223		
Chris Godown	222		
Joy Slaback	214		
Ricky Lindsey	214		
Kevin Slaback	210		
Jimmie Wilson	208		
Annette Avalos	204		



Over and Under

Winner	Over	Under
Deb Sutton	+75	
Connie Kendrick		-27
Joy Slaback	+68	
Connie Kendrick		-23
Ricky Lindsey	+45	
Chris McClung		-55

Brackets

TRADITIONAL HANDICAPPED			
FIRST	SECOND	THIRD	
PLACE	PLACE	PLACE	
Robert Starnes	Wayne Harvey	Luis Garcia	
Aaron Porter	Wayne Harvey	Scott Lurton	
Pete Harvey	Wayne Harvey	Scott Lurton	
Pete Harvey	Roger Moon	Janice Porter	
Annette Avalos	Aaron Porter	Deb Sutton	
REVERSE BRACKETS			
REVI	ERSE BRACKI	ETS	
REVI FIRST	ERSE BRACKI SECOND	ETS THIRD	
FIRST	SECOND	THIRD	
FIRST PLACE	SECOND PLACE	THIRD PLACE	
FIRST PLACE Ricky Lindsey	SECOND PLACE Annette Avalos	THIRD PLACE Robert Starnes	
FIRST PLACE Ricky Lindsey Deb Sutton	SECOND PLACE Annette Avalos Ryan Searle	THIRD PLACE Robert Starnes Annette Avalos	

Strike/Split Pot

STRIKES	
Robert Starnes (3)	Annette Avalos (4)
Wayne Harvey (2)	Allen McClung (2)
Ernie Davis	Luis Garcia
Pete Harvey	Richard Hamaker
Angela Montemayor	
SPLITS	
Jonathon Whittaker	Perry Dailey

MEGA BRACKET			
FIRST	SECOND	THIRD	
Deb Sutton	Ryan Searle	Simeon Pierre	
Pete Harvey	Ricky Lindsey	Simeon Pierre	



2025 Club Officers

PRESIDENT

Kenneth Deason 936-718-8238 ken.deason@jtmillerllc.com

VICE PRESIDENT

Pete Harvey (713) 774-0339 petehrvy@hotmail.com

SECRETARY

Roger Moon (713) 724-6259 Rogerd12@sbcglobal.net

TREASURER

Gayle Miller (713) 501-8906 gm.celticdragon@gmail.com

RECORDING SECRETARY

Janice Porter (832) 215-7874 jbrooks663@aol.com

PARLIMENTARIAN

Watson Holyfield 713-724-8103 wdholyfield@msn.com

SERGEANT-AT-ARMS

Ray Hess 281-255-8991 raymond.hess@sbcglobal.net

WEBMASTER

Pete Harvey 713-774-0339 petehrvy@hotmail.com

Let's Bowl

MARCH 2, 2025

Copperfield Bowl 15615 Glen Chase Drive Houston, TX 77095

APRIL 6, 2025

Bowlero Stafford 4919 S Main St. Stafford, TX 77477

MAY 4, 2025

Houston/Montgomery County Challenge Diamond Lanes 267 N Forest Blvd Houston, TX 77090

JUNE 1, 2025

Tomball Bowl 14435 FM 2920 Tomball, TX 77377

JULY 13, 2025

Armadillo I 3210 Preston Rd. Pasadena, TX 77505

AUGUST 1-3, 2024

National Buzzard **Tournament** Hosted by Fort Smith, AR **Details Forthcoming**

AUGUST 10, 2025

Emerald Bowl 9307 Boone Rd Houston, TX 77099

SEPTEMBER 7, 2025

Bowlero Willowbrook 19102 TX-249 Houston, TX 77070

OCTOBER 5, 2025

Armadilla II 1055 Fuqua Houston, TX 77089

NOVEMBER 2, 2025

Tomball Bowl 14435 FM 2920 Tomball, TX 77377

DECEMBER 7, 2025

Emerald Bowl 9307 Boone Rd Houston, TX 77099

Pot of Gold

There was no winner, so the March Pot of Gold is \$363!

More Bowling! You are invited to attend the Montgomery County Monthly gatherings. Below is the remaining 2025 schedule. All events are held at Time to Spare, 13207 Highway 105 E, Conroe, TX 77306. Sign in by 12:30, Meeting at 1:00, Bowl at 2:00.

MARCH 9, 2025 APRIL 13, 2025 MAY 11, 2025 JUNE 8, 2025 SEPTEMBER 14, 2025 OCTOBER 12, 2025 NOVEMBER 9, 2025 DECEMBER 14, 2025