Buzzard Club of America Houston Chapter January 2025 Newsletter



FOUNDED OCT 1961- ORGANIZED MAY 1963 FOUNDER - THOMAS E. WALTERS, JR CHIEF BUZZARD – KENNETH DEASON

January Cele<u>brations</u>

Birthdays	
Robert Rucker	1
Claudia Le	1
Jimmy Voyles	6
Bryan Truong	11
Daniel Garcia	
John Smith	15
Amy Rutherford	16
Scott Lurton	17
Donna Small	18
Crystal Compton	25
Anniversaries Robert Rucker	14

December Minutes

The latest meeting of the Houston Buzzard Club was held on Sunday December 8, 2024, at Emerald Lanes. Roger Moon started the meeting by distributing prize money from the November Houston tournament.

Roger announced December Birthdays and Anniversaries.

If you have any concerns or complaints, please address them to the Chapter President, Ken Deason.

The 2025 Officers were elected. Watson Holyfield replaced Barbara Castellese as Parliamentarian for 2025.

A motion was made to adopt a dress code like the one required by USBC for sanctioned tournaments. After a vote of the membership, the motion failed.

Jason Williamson, Alanna Deeb, Jimmie Wilson, Doug Cole, Jay Aisenbrey, Noah Culbertson, and Heather Rutherford were approved for membership.

Ken Deason recognized Reba Hess for her service to the Chapter.

The meeting was adjourned to bowl.

Annual Recognition

Who had the highest scores? Below is the best of the best, January 2024-November 2024

Name	Achievement	Score	Month
Robert Starnes	Scratch Series Male	773	May
Amy Rutherford	Scratch Series Female	628	June
Charles Lemonias	Handicapped Series Male	790	January
Emily Benedicto	Handicapped Series Female	820	February
Robert Starnes	Scratch Game Male	277	May
Annette Avalos	Scratch Game Female	233	August
Emily Benedicto	Handicapped Game Female	311	February
Charles Lemonias	Handicapped Game Male	307	January

And the Winners Are . . .

We had 67 members attend the December tournament. Here are the winners:

Men-Low Ball	Score	Payout
Kevin Slaback	63	\$63.50
Watson Holyfield	72	\$44.50
Robert Starnes	77	\$33.00
Jonathan Whitaker	81	\$21.00
Doug Cole	81	\$21.00
Cecil Rutherford	94	\$16.50
Jay Aisenberry	97	\$11.75
Kenneth Deason	97	\$11.75
Paul Broman	98	\$7.00
Tom Roper	100	\$5.00

Men-3-6-9	Score	Payout
Doug Cole	320	\$63.50
Andrew Roskey	291	\$44.50
Allen McClung	278	\$33.00
Michael Reynolds	275	\$23.50
Key Jay Jones	274	\$18.50
William Bates	271	\$16.50
Jeremy Sims	261	\$14.00
Paul Broman	260	\$9.50
Serge Scharf	254	\$6.00
Dennis Christian	254	\$6.00

Men No Taps	Score	Payout
Chris Godown	313	\$63.50
Charles Lemonias	308	\$44.50
Allen McClung	286	\$33.00
Daniel Rutherford	284	\$23.50
Jeff Dailey	279	\$18.50
Michael Reynolds	278	\$16.50
Charles Barbara	272	\$14.00
Jeremy Sims	266	\$9.50
Andrew Roskey	265	\$7.00
William Bates	264	\$5.00

Women-Low Ball	Score	Payout
Annette Avalos	89	\$44.50
Joy Slaback	95	\$30.00
Tina Deason	107	\$20.50
Deb Sutton	110	\$14.50
Vickie Carlson	117	\$10.50
Teri Roper	117	\$10.50

Women-3-6-9	Score	Payout
Alanna Deeb	281	\$44.50
Michelle Vogler	271	\$30.00
Vickie Carlson	258	\$20.50
Tina Deason	251	\$14.50
Theresa Patino	247	\$10.50

Women No Taps	Score	Payout
Joeleen Brown	272	\$44.50
Amy Rutherford	263	\$30.00
Lynda Frost	257	\$20.50
Michelle Vogler	255	\$14.50
Sandy Hayward	254	\$10.50



Mystery Doubles Winners

	First	Score	Second	Score	Second	Score
Perry Daile	ey/Andrew Roskey	1050	Wayne Harvey/Aaron Porter	990	Tina Deason/Deb Sutton	968

Handicap Brackets

FIRST PLACE	SECOND PLACE
Allen McClung	William Bates
Allen McClung	Charles Barbara
Andrew Roskey	William Bates
Allen McClung	William Bates
Allen McClung	William Bates
Wayne Harvey	Charles Barbara
Charles Barbara	Janice Porter
Charles Barbara	Pete Harvey
Charles Barbara	Charlie Peoples
Aaron Porter	Deb Sutton
Allen McClung	William Bates
William Bates	Charles Barbara
Andrew Roskey	Allen McClung
William Bates	Charles Barbara
Charles Barbara	Annette Avalos
Andrew Roskey	Vickie Carlson
Allen McClung	William Bates

Strike/Split Pot

STRIKES	
Robert Starnes (3)	Chuck Barbara (2)
Wayne Harvey (2)	Josh Rutherford (2)
Jonathan Whitaker (2)	Daniel Rutherford
Perry Dailey	Dennis Christian
Terrence McKinney	
SPLITS	
Chuck Barbara (2)	Robert Starnes
Dennis Christian	Annette Avalos

2025 Club Officers

PRESIDENT

Kenneth Deason 936-718-8238

ken.deason@jtmillerllc.com

VICE PRESIDENT

Pete Harvey (713) 774-0339 petehrvy@hotmail.com

SECRETARY

Roger Moon (713) 724-6259

Rogerd12@sbcglobal.net

TREASURER

Gayle Miller (713) 501-8906

gm.celticdragon@gmail.com

RECORDING SECRETARY

Janice Porter (832) 215-7874 jbrooks663@aol.com

PARLIMENTARIAN

Watson Holyfield 713-724-8103 wdholyfield@msn.com

SERGEANT-AT-ARMS

Ray Hess 281-255-8991 raymond.hess@sbcglobal.net

WEBMASTER

Pete Harvey 713-774-0339 petehrvy@hotmail.com



Let's Bowl

JANUARY 5, 2025

Bowlero Webster 318 W Bay Area Blvd Webster, TX 77598



Contest	Winner
Door Prizes	Roger Moon, Cecil Rutherford
50/50	Gayle Miler, Janice Porter (x2), Reba Hess, Ray Hess, Doug Cole
Candy Guess	Janet Whitt
Secret Score	Robert Starnes, Annette Avalos
Red/Blue Tickets	All members present receive a prize.

Pot of Gold

There was no winner, so the January Pot of Gold is \$304!

Unless otherwise indicated, Sign-ins start at 12:30, Membership meeting starts at 1:00 and Bowling starts at 2:00. You must be signed in by 1:30 PM.