# **Buzzard Club of America Houston Chapter July 2022 Newsletter**



FOUNDED OCT 1961- ORGANIZED MAY 1963 FOUNDER - THOMAS E. WALTERS, JR CHIEF BUZZARD – KENNETH DEASON



## July Celebrations

Birthdays
Roy Collins2
Jeffrey Weiss3
Steve Daniel6
Darrell Stoner6
Justin Persand7
Sergio Gonzalez10
Brittany Cliff11
Shelly Cortez12
Ashley Collins14
Richard Ilac15
Lora Hansen18
Donna Barnes25
C.W. Keith25
<b>Jimmy James27</b>

Anniversaries
Tom &Teri

Roper ......18 Kim Riuich ......27

# **June Minutes**

The latest meeting of the Houston Buzzard Club was held on Sunday June 12, 2022, at Diamond Bowl. Roger Moon started the meeting by distributing prize money from the May tournament.

Roger announced that today was the last day to submit applications for the National Buzzard Tournament in August.

Roger provided the Treasurer's Report and announced June Birthdays and Anniversaries.

The following new members were approved: Helen Dora, Phebe Ray and Russell Colston

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned to bowl.

## **June Door Prize Winners**

EVENT	WINNERS
Door Prizes	Joy Slayback, Chris Godown, Cecil Rutherford
50/50	Annette Avalos
Candy Guess	Deb Sutton

## **Crossover Doubles Winners**

Game	First	Score	Second	Score
1	Jeff Starkey/Ken Deason	452	Jeff Starkey/Deb Sutton	450
2	Jeff Starkey/Darrell Stoner	520	Jeff Starkey/Ken Deason	480
3	Scott Lurton/Deb Sutton	474	Ray Hess/Scott Lurton	469
Series	Jeff Starkey/Darrell Stoner	1397	Jeff Starkey/Deb Sutton	1382

## And the Winners Are . . .

We had 49 members attend the June tournament. Here are the winners:

Class A Men	Score	Payout
Serge Scharf	809	\$22.75
Kevin Slayback	713	\$18.20
Jeff Starkey	707	\$15.95
Pete Harvey	705	\$13.65
Darrell Stoner	690	\$11.35
Cecil Rutherford	680	\$9.10

Class A Women	Score	Payout
Amy Rutherford	746	\$22.75
Teri Roper	690	\$18.20
Kim Rutherford	662	\$15.95
Lynda Frost	639	\$13.65
Vater Beavers	610	\$11.35
Gayle Hanselman	604	\$9.10

Class B Men	Score	Payout
Archie Stamp	762	\$22.75
Fred Rogers	759	\$18.20
Roy Collins	754	\$15.95
Matt Lem	753	\$13.65
Mark Grosch	742	\$10.25
Dennis Christian	742	\$10.25

Class B Women	Score	Payout
Sherry Roddington	775	\$22.75
Theresa Patino	677	\$17.10
Cathy Bolling	677	\$17.10
Deb Sutton	675	\$13.65
Bette Kelley	672	\$11.35
Janice Porter	666	\$9.10

## **Over and Under**

Winner	Over	Under
Serge Scharf	+61	
Gayle Hanselman		-35
Dennis Christian	+58	
Scott Lurton		-29
Serge Scharf	+93	
Annette Avalos		-51

# Strike/Split Pot

STRIKES	
Jeff Starkey (3)	Richard Hamaker
Johnathan Petty	Chris McClung
Darrell Stoner	Allen McClung
Aaron Porter	
Brian Brewer	Alice Ward
Annette Avalos	Chris McClung
Johnathan Petty	

Queen Buzzard- 9 Splits			
Donna Barnes \$5			

King Buzzard- 9 Splits		
Perry Dailey	\$5	

High Game/Series Handicapped					
Pete Harvey Jeff Starkey Pete Harvey Jeff Starkey					
243 260 271 707					

## **Handicap Brackets**

FIRST PLACE	SECOND PLACE	SECOND CHANCE
Janice Porter	Annette Avalos	Ray Hess
Matt Lem	Jeff Starkey	Darrell Stoner
Janice Porter	Roger Moon	Ray Hess
Matt Lem	Deb Sutton	
Matt Lem	Jeff Starkey	
Fred Rogers	Darrell Stoner	
Pete Harvey	Ken Deason	

## **Mega Bracket**

FIRST PLACE	SECOND, THIRD AND	
	FOURTH PLACE	
Matt Lem	Jeff Starkey, Annette Avalos	

#### Pot of Gold

There was no winner in June, so the July Pot of Gold is \$365!

## 2022 Club Officers

#### **PRESIDENT**

Kenneth Deason 936-718-8238 ken.deason@jtmillerllc.com

#### **VICE PRESIDENT**

Pete Harvey (713) 774-0339 petehrvy@hotmail.com

#### **SECRETARY**

Roger Moon (713) 724-6259 Rogerd12@sbcglobal.net

#### **TREASURER**

Gayle Miller (713) 501-8906

gm.celticdragon@gmail.com

#### **RECORDING SECRETARY**

Janice Porter (832) 215-7874 jbrooks663@aol.com

#### **PARLIMENTARIAN**

Barbara Castellese (713) 882-9954 barbara.castellese@att.net

#### **SERGEANT-AT-ARMS**

Ray Hess 281-255-8991 raymond.hess@sbcglobal.net

#### **WEBMASTER**

Pete Harvey 713-774-0339 petehrvy@hotmail.com

#### **200 GAMES**

Kevin Slayback	211	226	231
Ken Deason	207	201	204
Serge Scharf	234	265	
Pete Harvey	201	229	
Brian Brewer	200	225	
Dennis Christian	218	205	
Chris Godown	255		
Archie Stamp	243		
Fred Rogers	233		
Jeff Starkey	232		
Darrell Stoner	224		
Amy Rutherford	224		
<b>Sherry Roddington</b>	221		
Mark Grosch	219		
Richard Hamaker	217		
Watson Holyfield	214		
Jonathan Petty	213		
Matt Lem	210		
Kim Rutherford	209		
Gregg Howard	205		
Chris McClung	205		
Roy Collins	204		
Tom Roper	203		
Pat Collins	201		



#### Let's Bowl

#### **JULY 17, 2022**

Copperfield Bowl 15615 Glen Chase Drive Houston, TX 77095

#### **AUGUST 5-7, 2022**

National Buzzard Tournament Hosted by Dallas Metro Chapter

#### **AUGUST 14, 2022**

Tomball Bowl 14435 Farm to Market 2920 Tomball, TX 77377

#### **SEPTEMBER 11, 2022**

Diamond Lanes 267 N Forest Blvd, Houston, TX 77090

#### **OCTOBER 9, 2022**

Emerald Bowl 9307 Boone Rd Houston, TX 77099

#### **NOVEMBER 13, 2022**

Armadilla Lanes II 10055 Fuqua St Houston, TX 77089

#### **DECEMBER 11, 2022**

Copperfield Bowl 15615 Glen Chase Drive Houston, TX 77095

Sign-ins start at 12:30, Membership meeting starts at 1:00 and Bowling starts at 2:00. You must be signed in by 1:30 PM.

### **More Buzzard Fun!**

Bowl with the Buzzards from Montgomery County on July 10. Bowling is at Time to Spare in Cut and Shoot Texas and starts at 2:00. Be there by 1:30 to sign in!



