Buzzard Club of America Houston Chapter January 2024 Newsletter



FOUNDED OCT 1961- ORGANIZED MAY 1963 FOUNDER - THOMAS E. WALTERS, JR CHIEF BUZZARD – KENNETH DEASON

January Celebrations

Birthdays Robert Rucker ... 1 Jimmy Voyles ... 6 Bryan Truong ... 11 Amy Rutherford ... 16 Scott Lurton ... 17 Donna Small ... 18 Crystal Compton ... 25 Anniversaries Robert Rucker ... 14

December Minutes

The latest meeting of the Houston Buzzard Club was held on Sunday December 10, 2023, at Copperfield Lanes. Roger Moon started the meeting by distributing prize money from the November Houston tournament and the November Montgomery County Tournament.

Ken Deason reported to the membership that nearly all houses for 2024 meetings are confirmed and will be published in the newsletter.

The 2024 Officers were confirmed.

The following new members were approved for membership: Martin Horner, Shareen Quintero and Brandon Bruce.

Roger presented the Treasurers Report.

Shirts are available for the National Tournament in August.

Roger announced the first annual Montgomery County/Greater Houston Chapter Challenge which will be held on May 19 at Time to Spare in Conroe.

Please keep member Wayne Harvey in your thoughts and prayers due to serious injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned to bowl.

Annual Recognition

Who had the highest scores? Below is the best of the best, January 2023-November 2023

Name	Achievement	Score	Month
Robert Starnes	Scratch Series Male	802	July
Angela Montemayor	Scratch Series Female	660	July
Robert Starnes	Handicapped Series Male	829	July
Faye Benoit	Handicapped Series Female	811	November
Robert Starnes	Scratch Game Male	279	May
Angela Montemayor	Scratch Game Female	257	July
Charles Lemonias	Handicapped Game Male	307	June
Amy Rutherford	Handicapped Game Female	304	October

And the Winners Are . . .

We had 67 members attend the December tournament. Here are the winners:

Men-Low Ball	Score	Payout
Robert Starnes	81	\$55.50
Rick Lindsey	95	\$34.25
Scott Lurton	95	\$34.25
Matt Lem	96	\$20.25
Tom Roper	98	\$13.00
Mike LaBarge	98	\$13.00
Mack Grosch	99	\$8.50
Kevin Slaback	101	\$6.50

Men-3-6-9	Score	Payout
William Bates	337	\$55.50
Darrell Stoner	311	\$38.75
Rick Broussard	299	\$29.50
Terrance McKinney	298	\$20.25
Jeff Starkey	288	\$15.00
Christian Sinette	275	\$11.00
Jimmy Voyles	272	\$8.50
Roger Moon	270	\$6.50

Men No Taps	Score	Payout
Darrell Stoner	330	\$55.50
Tom Roper	297	\$38.75
Roy Collins	293	\$29.50
Chris Coker	283	\$20.25
Roger Moon	281	\$15.00
Matt Lem	280	\$11.00
Robert Starnes	279	\$8.50
Roger Hanselman	278	\$6.50

Women-Low Ball	Score	Payout
Vater Beavers	85	\$51.00
Shelly Cortez	90	\$34.50
Amy Rutherford	94	\$24.00
Janice Porter	95	\$18.00
Annette Avalos	96	\$13.50
Janet Whitt	102	\$9.00

Women-3-6-9	Score	Payout
Jana Jones	300	\$51.00
Vater Beavers	292	\$34.50
Kim Rutherford	279	\$24.00
Donna Barnes	271	\$18.00
Lynda Frost	270	\$11.25
Shelly Cortez	270	\$11.25
Faye Benoit	270	\$11.25

Women No Taps	Score	Payout
Tina Pudifin	290	\$51.00
Faye Benoit	274	\$34.50
Vater Beavers	273	\$24.00
Terri Roper	270	\$18.00
Kelli Stoner	267	\$13.50
Peggy Meinhart	266	\$9.00



Mystery Doubles Winners

First	Score	Second	Score
William Bates/Kelli Stoner	1146	Darrell Stoner/Charlie Peoples	1086

Handicap Brackets

FIRST PLACE Chris Coker William Bates William Bates **Robert Starnes** Terrence McKinney Chris Coker William Bates William Bates William Bates **Robert Starnes** William Starnes Terrance McKinney **Robert Starnes** Chris Coker William Bates Chris Coker Darrell Stoner **Robert Starnes**

FIRST PLACE
Kelli Stoner
Robert Starnes
William Bates
Matt Lem
William Bates
Roger Moon
Robert Starnes
Robert Starnes
William Bates
Roger Moon
Darrell Stoner
Darrell Stoner
Roger Moon
William Bates
Darrell Stoner
William Bates
Chris Coker
Robert Starnes

Reverse Brackets

FIRST PLACE
Roger Moon
Darrell Stoner
William Bates
William Bates
William Bates
Jeffery Starkey
Matt Lem
Janice Porter
Robert Starnes
Chris Coker
Robert Starnes
Robert Starnes
Mark Grosch
Robert Starnes
Roger Moon
Roger Moon
Robert Starnes
Chris Coker
Kelli Stoner

FIRST PLACE
Robert Starnes
Roger Moon
Chris Coker
William Bates
Robert Starnes
Chris Coker
Darrell Stoner
William Bates
Lynda Frost
Chris Coker
Chris Coker
William Bates
Robert Starnes
William Bates
William Bates
Darrell Stoner
William Bates

2024 Club Officers

PRESIDENT

Chris Coker

Kenneth Deason 936-718-8238

ken.deason@jtmillerllc.com

VICE PRESIDENT

Pete Harvey (713) 774-0339 petehrvy@hotmail.com

SECRETARY

Roger Moon (713) 724-6259 Rogerd12@sbcglobal.net

TREASURER

Gayle Miller (713) 501-8906

gm.celticdragon@gmail.com

RECORDING SECRETARY

Janice Porter (832) 215-7874 jbrooks663@aol.com

PARLIMENTARIAN

Barbara Castellese (713) 882-9954 barbara.castellese@att.net

SERGEANT-AT-ARMS

Ray Hess 281-255-8991 raymond.hess@sbcglobal.net

WEBMASTER

Pete Harvey 713-774-0339

petehrvy@hotmail.com



Let's Bowl

JANUARY 14, 2024

Bowlero Webster 318 W Bay Area Blvd Webster, TX 77598

FEBRUARY 4, 2024

Bowlero Woodlands 27000 I-45 North Conroe, TX 77385

MARCH 3, 2024

Armadillo I 3210 Preston Rd. Pasadena, TX 77505

APRIL 7, 2024

Diamond Lanes 267 N Forest Blvd, Houston, TX 77090

MAY 5, 2024

Tomball Bowl 14435 FM 2920 Tomball, TX 77377

MAY 19, 2024

Houston/Montgomery Chapters Challenge Time To Spare 13027 Highway 105 E Conroe, Texas 77306

JUNE 2, 2024

Bowlero Stafford 4919 S Main St. Stafford, TX 77477

JULY 7, 2024

Emerald Bowl 9307 Boone Rd Houston, TX 77099

AUGUST 2-4, 2024

National Buzzard Tournament Hosted by Montgomery County Chapter Time To Spare 13027 Highway 105 E Conroe, Texas 77306

AUGUST 11, 2024

Bowlero Willowbrook 19102 TX-249 Houston, TX 77070

SEPTEMBER 15, 2024

Max Bowl North 2390 Wilson Rd Humble, TX 77396

OCTOBER 13, 2024

Copperfield Bowl 15615 Glen Chase Drive Houston, TX 77095

NOVEMBER 3, 2024

Not Confirmed

DECEMBER 8, 2024

Emerald Bowl 9307 Boone Rd Houston, TX 77099

December Door Prize Winners

- \$5: Michael Labarge, Watson Holyfield, Ken Deason, Roger Moon Charlie Peoples, Ken Deason Charlie Peoples, Matt Lem, Cecil Rutherford, Dennis Christian, Aaron Porter, Robert Starnes, Annette Avalos, Karen Smith, Barbara Castellese, Gail Hanselman, Beth Dominguez, Lynda Frost
- Freebie Door Prize: Janice Porter, Peggy Meinhart
- 50/50: Chris McClung
- Scratch-offs: Rick Lindsey, Pete Harvey Rhonda Coker (2), Lulu Lindsey, Allen McClung, Joy Slaback, Donna Barnes, Ray Hess

Unless otherwise indicated, Sign-ins start at 12:30, Membership meeting starts at 1:00 and Bowling starts at 2:00. You must be signed in by 1:30 PM.