Buzzard Club of America Houston Chapter January 2022 Newsletter



FOUNDED OCT 1961- ORGANIZED MAY 1963 FOUNDER - THOMAS E. WALTERS, JR CHIEF BUZZARD – KENNETH DEASON

December Celebrations

Birthdays

Robert Rucker	1
Megan Sutton	2
JC McCord	11
Amy Rutherford	
Scott Lurton	17
Molly Weeks	20
Sandra Hayward	
Lizabeth Crowell	

Anniversaries

Megan S	Sutton	12
Robert F	Rucker	14

December Minutes

The latest meeting of the Houston Buzzard Club was held on Sunday December 12, 2021 at Copperfield Lanes. Roger Moon started the meeting by distributing prize money from the November tournament.

The final schedule for 2022 is in the newsletter.

Roger read the Treasurers report.

New member applications from Justin Persand, Lizabeth Crowell, Kim Riuich, Dewey Ruth and Brad Miller were approved.

Roger provided the Treasurer's Report and announced November birthdays and anniversaries.

The 2022 Officers were confirmed.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned to bowl.

Annual Recognition

Who had the highest scores? Below is the best of the best, January 2021-November 2021

Name	Achievement	Score	Month
Archie Stamp	Scratch Series Male	732	April
Kim Rutherford	Scratch Series Female	575	November
Archie Stamp	Handicapped Series Male	921	April
Kelly Patterson	Handicapped Series Female	741	September
Wayne Harvey	Scratch Game Male	289	May
Kim Rutherford	Scratch Game Female	222	November
Annette Avalos	Most 200 Games Female	5	
Robert Starnes	Most 200 Games Male	20	

And the Winners Are . . .

We had 54 members attend the December tournament. Here are the winners:

Class A Men-Low Ball	Score	Payout
Ron Willard	76	\$23.60
Scott Lurton	93	\$18.90
Perry Dailey	95	\$16.55
Watson Holyfield	95	\$14.20
Robert Rucker	101	\$11.80
Darrell Stoner	103	\$9.45

Class B Men-Low Ball	Score	Payout
Curt Randall	78	\$23.60
Jeffrey Brewer	91	\$18.90
Matt Lem	93	\$16.55
Jeremy Sims	94	\$14.20
Pat Karr	120	\$11.80
Steve Hamlin	121	\$9.45

Class A Men-3-6-9	Score	Payout
Rick Heathcott	293	\$23.60
Robert Starnes	271	\$18.90
Robert Rucker	268	\$16.55
Scott Lurton	263	\$14.20
Cecil Rutherford	262	\$11.80
Dennis Christian	257	\$9.45

Class A Men-3-6-9	Score	Payout
Curt Randall	264	\$23.60
Roy Collins	263	\$18.90
Tom Roper	259	\$16.55
Jeffrey Brewer	256	\$14.20
Allen McClung	252	\$11.80
Matt Lem	251	\$9.45

Class A Women-Low Ball	Score	Payout
Kelly Patterson	79	\$23.60
Kelli Stoner	90	\$18.90
Annette Avalos	104	\$16.55
Terri Roper	111	\$14.20
Lynda Frost	112	\$11.80
Joleen Brown	118	\$9.45

Class B Women-Low Ball	Score	Payout
Tina Pudifin	111	\$23.60
Alice Ward	127	\$18.90
Mary Creighton	128	\$16.55
Barbara Castellese	136	\$14.20
Janice Porter	137	\$11.80
Bette Kelley	152	\$9.45

Class A Women-3-6-9	Score	Payout
Gayle Hanselman	285	\$21.25
Lynda Frost	285	\$21.25
Kim Rutherford	280	\$16.55
Joleen Brown	260	\$14.20
Shelly Cortez	250	\$11.80
Terri Roper	240	\$9.45

Class B Women-3-6-9	Score	Payout
Janice Porter	279	\$23.60
Alice Ward	258	\$18.90
Barbara Castellese	241	\$16.55
Bette Kelley	236	\$14.20
Karen Smith	233	\$11.80
Tina Pudifin	232	\$9.45



Winners Continued

Class A Men-No Taps	Score	Payout
Roger Hanselman	307	\$23.60
Jeff Starkey	305	\$18.90
Wayne Harvey	288	\$16.55
Roger Moon	279	\$14.20
Robert Rucker	276	\$11.80
Darrell Stoner	260	\$9.45

Class B Men-No Taps	Score	Payout
Steve Hamlin	307	\$23.60
Pat Karr	300	\$18.90
Roy Collins	299	\$16.55
Rick Broussard	299	\$14.20
Curt Randall	299	\$11.80
Matt Lem	255	\$9.45

Class A Women-No Taps	Score	Payout
Kelli Stoner	315	\$23.60
Lynda Frost	257	\$18.90
Shelly Cortez	256	\$16.55
Kelly Patterson	245	\$14.20
Kim Rutherford	244	\$11.80
Terri Roper	232	\$9.45

Class B Women-No Taps	Score	Payout
Donna Barnes	277	\$23.60
Bette Kelley	271	\$18.90
Barbara Castellese	266	\$16.55
Janice Porter	252	\$14.20
Mary Creighton	228	\$11.80
Karen Smith	223	\$9.45

2022 Club Officers

PRESIDENT

Kenneth Deason 936-718-8238

ken.deason@jtmillerllc.com

VICE PRESIDENT

Pete Harvey (713) 774-0339 petehrvy@hotmail.com

SECRETARY

Roger Moon (713) 724-6259 Rogerd12@sbcglobal.net

TREASURER

Gayle Miller (713) 501-8906

gm.celticdragon@gmail.com

RECORDING SECRETARY

Janice Porter (832) 215-7874 jbrooks663@aol.com

PARLIMENTARIAN

Barbara Castellese (713) 882-9954 barbara.castellese@att.net

SERGEANT-AT-ARMS

Ray Hess 281-255-8991 raymond.hess@sbcglobal.net

WEBMASTER

Pete Harvey 713-774-0339

petehrvy@hotmail.com



Pot of Gold

Barbara Castellese won \$71 in the Pot of Gold by having two correct numbers!

Let's Bowl

JANUARY 9, 2022

Bowlero Webster 318 W Bay Area Blvd Webster, TX 77598

FEBRUARY 6, 2022

Tomball Bowl 14435 Farm to Market 2920 Tomball, TX 77377 Sign in starts at 1:30; Meeting at 2:00

MARCH 13, 2022

Bowlero Willowbrook 19102 TX-249 Houston, TX 77070

APRIL 10, 2022

Diamond Lanes 267 N Forest Blvd Houston, TX 77090



MAY 15, 2022

Tomball Bowl 14435 FM 2920 Tomball, TX 77377 Sign in starts at 1:30; Meeting at 2:00

JUNE 12, 2022

Emerald Bowl 9307 Boone Rd Houston, TX 77099

JULY 17, 2022

Copperfield Bowl 15615 Glen Chase Drive Houston, TX 77095

AUGUST 5-7, 2022

National Buzzard Tournament Hosted by Dallas Metro Chapter

AUGUST 14, 2022

Tomball Bowl 14435 Farm to Market 2920 Tomball, TX 77377 Sign in starts at 1:30; Meeting at 2:00

SEPTEMBER 11, 2022

Diamond Lanes 267 N Forest Blvd, Houston, TX 77090

OCTOBER 9, 2022

Emerald Bowl 9307 Boone Rd Houston, TX 77099

NOVEMBER 13, 2022

Armadilla Lanes II 10055 Fuqua St Houston, TX 77089

DECEMBER 11, 2022

Copperfield Bowl 15615 Glen Chase Drive Houston, TX 77095

December Door Prize Winners

- \$5: Lynda Frost, Janice Porter, Donna Barnes, Alice Ward, Barbara Castellese, Annette Avalos, Mary Creighton, Vickie Carlson, Kim Rutherford, Bette Kelley, Roy Collins, David Wiltshire, Justin Persand, Watson Holyfield, Cecil Rutherford, Frank Stanford, Ken Deason, Dennis Christian, Ray Hess and Roger Moon.
- Freebie Door Prize: Robert Starnes
- Gift Cards: Pete Harvey, Jeff Starkey, Bette Kelley and Kelly Patterson
- 50/50: Kelly Patterson

Unless otherwise indicated, Sign-ins start at 12:30, Membership meeting starts at 1:00 and Bowling starts at 2:00. You must be signed in by 1:30 PM.